Daily Archives: April 28, 2011

*A Royal Schedule*

image from okmagazine.com

Tomorrow’s the day: HRH Prince William of Wales will marry his beaming bride, Miss Catherine Middleton.

Earlier today, The Royal Couple released the following statement , “We are both so delighted that you are able to join us in celebrating what we hope will be one of the happiest days of our lives. The affection shown to us by so many people during our engagement has been incredibly moving, and has touched us both deeply. We would like to take this opportunity to thank everyone most sincerely for their kindness.”

Should you care to follow along, here’s what you need to know:  (source: multiple)

8.15 a.m. London time (12.15 a.m. PT/3.15 a.m. ET) – General congregation arrives at Westminster Abbey between 8.15 a.m. and 9.45 a.m.

9.50 a.m. London time (1.50 a.m. PT/4.50 a.m. ET) Distinguished guests arrive.

10.10 a.m. London time (2.10 a.m. PT/5.10 a.m. ET) Prince William and Prince Harryleave Clarence House for Westminster Abbey. They arrive at the Abbey at 10.15 a.m.

10.20 a.m. London time (2.20 p.m. PT/5.20 p.m. ET) Carole Middleton and Kate’s younger brother James leave the Goring Hotel for Westminster Abbey. They arrive at the Abbey at 10.27 a.m.

10.35 a.m. London time (2.35 a.m. PT/5.35 a.m. ET) The following members of the Royal family leave Buckingham Palace for Westminster Abbey: Princess Anne and Vice-Admiral Timothy Laurence; Prince Andrew, Duke of York; Princesses Eugenie and Beatrice; Prince Edward, Earl of Wessex and Sophie, Countess of Wessex. They arrive at the Abbey at 10.40 a.m.

10.38 a.m. London time (2.38 a.m. PT/5.38 a.m. ET) HRH Charles, the Prince of Wales and Camilla, Duchess of Cornwall leave Clarence House for Westminster Abbey. They arrive at the Abbey at 10.42 a.m.

10.40 a.m. London time (2.40 a.m. PT/5.40 a.m. ET) Her Majesty the Queen and Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh leave Buckingham Palace for Westminster Abbey. 

10.48 a.m. London time (2.48 a.m. PT/5.48 a.m. ET) The bridesmaids and pages leave the Goring Hotel for Westminster Abbey. They arrive at the Abbey at 10.55 a.m.

10:51 a.m. London time (2:51 a.m. PT/5:51 a.m. ET) – Kate and her father Mike Middleton will depart the Goring Hotel via car, the first time since 1963 that a royal bride has not arrived at the church by horse-drawn carriage. Their car will travel along The Mall, passing by Clarence House, Whitehall, and Parliament Square before arriving at the Abbey. 🙂

11 a.m. London time (3 a.m. PT/6 a.m. ET) – The service begins at 11:00 a.m. While the Dean of Westminster will conduct the church service, William and Kate will actually be married by Rowan Douglas Williams, the Archbishop of Canterbury. The marriage service will be relayed by audio speakers along the procession route. 🙂

12.15 p.m. London time (4.15 a.m. PT/7.15 a.m. ET) – Following the ceremony, Prince William and Princess Catherine, now husband and wife, will return to Buckingham Palace in a procession of horse-drawn carriages (with the newlyweds travellign in the 1902 State Landau carriage), passing by the thousands of well-wishers who will be lining the streets. 🙂

12.30 p.m. London time (4:30 a.m. PT/7:30 a.m. ET) – Once back at Buckingham Palace, the newlyweds enjoy a champagne reception hosted by Her Majesty the Queen.

1.25 p.m. London time (5.25 a.m. PT/8.25 a.m. ET) – The Royal couple and their families will take a moment to appear on the Buckingham Palace balcony. We expect that William and Kate will share a **kiss** for the crowds and cameras. 🙂

1.30 p.m. London time (5.30 a.m. PT/8.30 a.m. ET) – The royals watch a flypast by the Royal Air Force and Battle of Britain Memorial Flight before returning inside for the Queen’s reception.

7 p.m. London time (11 a.m. PT/2 p.m. ET) – Charles, The Prince of Wales will host a private dinner and dance, also at Buckingham Palace. 

     * I’ve marked with a 🙂 the points of the schedule I’ll be paying the most attention to …. and, with that,  I’m off to bed! MJ

Categories: Beauty, Faith, Family, Fashion, Fun, Joy, Life, Love, News, Relationships, Romance, Share, Useful Information | Tags: | 9 Comments

If Diana had been here

Princess Diana with her boys, Prince Harry (c) and Prince William (r); image from luxuo.com

Tomorrow is the much-anticipated Royal Wedding between Prince William of Wales and Miss Catherine “Kate” Middleton and, like many, I have been following along and will enjoy the coverage of what promises to be a spectacular day in history.
 
Much ado has been made about the guest list, the food, the various parties and, of course, what Kate’s dress will look like.
 
I can’t help but think about her.  Diana, Princess of Wales.
 
Fiercely devoted mother, master press manipulator, giver of hugs, sharer of a perhaps too much information.
 
I think about how she would have turned 50 this year and how stunning she would still be.
 
I like to think of her arriving at the Abbey in sophisticated, sleek yet understated attire, turning and giving a smile to all of us. 
 
I like to think Kate would have tried especially hard to please and impress her.
 
I like to think that she might have found love by now, with a super hot and titled Aristocrat sporting ears of normal proportions.
 
I like to think that, with her still with us, there’d be no Camilla.
 
Come to think of it, she will be there.  Prince William gave Kate her ring.  Her generous influence on her two sons appears ever-present.
 
The last time we witnessed Royal pomp & circumstance at the Abbey, it was for her funeral and whenever I see a photo of those flowers with the words “Mummy,” my heart breaks again.
 
It’s time for some love, some romance, some lightness of being.  Make room for Diana, for she will be there tomorrow.
 
Categories: Beauty, Determination, Family, Gratitude, Grief, Joy, Life, Love, Men, Opinion, Personal, Random, Romance, Share, Thoughts, Wisdom, Women | Tags: , , , , , , | 35 Comments

Blog at WordPress.com.

A Little Wild Farm

Planting roots on our little wild farm.

Connie Rosser Riddle

Connecting with People in My Path

Atypical 60

A Typical Blog. A Typical Woman. A Typical Take On Life. With An Atypical Twist!

A New Day Dawns

Arise, shine; For your light has come!

Virginia Views

Country Living for Beginners

Views and Mews by Coffee Kat

Kate's views on life edited by four opinionated cats

Renee Johnson Writes

Novelist, Traveler, and More

Life Is A Journey... Not A Guided Tour

My Journey From Merchant Mariner to Mother, And Spiritual Being.

notquiteold

Nancy Roman

She's A Maineiac

just another plaid-wearin' java-sippin' girl

I also live on a farm

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Wordsmith's Desk

some thoughts along the way

Meanwhile, back at the ranch...

music, poetry, musings, photography and philosophy from a woman who found her way back home and wants you to come over for a hike and a cocktail.

these days of mine

Stop in and see what's happening during these days of mine

When I Ride...

How life coaches me as I ride...

RICH RIPLEY

EMPLOYEES MUST WASH HANDS...

A Little Wild Farm

Planting roots on our little wild farm.

Connie Rosser Riddle

Connecting with People in My Path

Atypical 60

A Typical Blog. A Typical Woman. A Typical Take On Life. With An Atypical Twist!

A New Day Dawns

Arise, shine; For your light has come!

Virginia Views

Country Living for Beginners

Views and Mews by Coffee Kat

Kate's views on life edited by four opinionated cats

Renee Johnson Writes

Novelist, Traveler, and More

Life Is A Journey... Not A Guided Tour

My Journey From Merchant Mariner to Mother, And Spiritual Being.

notquiteold

Nancy Roman

She's A Maineiac

just another plaid-wearin' java-sippin' girl

I also live on a farm

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Wordsmith's Desk

some thoughts along the way

Meanwhile, back at the ranch...

music, poetry, musings, photography and philosophy from a woman who found her way back home and wants you to come over for a hike and a cocktail.

these days of mine

Stop in and see what's happening during these days of mine

When I Ride...

How life coaches me as I ride...

RICH RIPLEY

EMPLOYEES MUST WASH HANDS...